based on the World Pool-Billiard Association (WPA) World Standardized Rules (the “official rules of pool”)

Is a kiss-back shot a foul if the CB doesn’t hit a cushion?

Yes. A kiss-back shot is where the CB squarely hits an OB frozen to a cushion and bounces straight back after a double hit of the OB, leaving the OB close to where it was originally. With these shots, the OB does not return to the cushion, and since a ball must make contact with a cushion after contact, the shot is a foul if the CB does not reach a cushion. Here’s a video explanation, with numerous examples:

A game-situation example can be found here: NV B.13 – End-of-game frozen kiss-back safety option

And many more game-situation examples can be found in the following video:

Dr. Dave keeps this site commercial free, with no ads. If you appreciate the free resources, please consider making a one-time or monthly donation to show your support: