based on the World Pool-Billiard Association (WPA) World Standardized Rules (the “official rules of pool”)

Is a “scoop” jump shot a foul, even if there is no miscue or multiple hit?

Yes. Here is the pertinent quote from WPA Rule 8.18:

A scoop shot, in which the cue tip contacts the playing surface and the cue ball at the same time and this causes the cue ball to rise off the cloth, is treated like a miscue.

and, per WPA Rule 6.16c, a miscue is a foul if it is intentional (e.g., if used to purposely jump the CB over an obstacle). See:

The following videos show and explain what happens with various types of illegal “scoop” jump shots:

Here’s an example scoop shot resulting from an elevated draw shot miscue:

For many example rule calls along with explanations, see “Rules – Part I: introduction” (BD, August, 2009) and:

Why is a “scoop” jump shot illegal?

For a jump shot to be legal, you must hit the CB from above, causing it to bounce off the table’s slate. A purposeful scoop jump is illegal because it is too easy. It also involves an intentional miscue and secondary contact and/or the tip hitting the CB while in contact with the table. It can also cause cloth damage if executed forcefully, especially on a table with loose cloth.

Dr. Dave keeps this site commercial free, with no ads. If you appreciate the free resources, please consider making a one-time or monthly donation to show your support: